Asparagus Tart

DSC_0049

On a whim last week I bought a bunch of Asparagus. I went to the supermarket for something else and of course bought more than was on my list including a bunch of Asparagus.

Once I got home I got season shopping guilt. Sure the sign said it was from Australia but was it really? I mean Asparagus is usually in season in spring and here it is the middle of Autumn. And if it was from Australia where in Australia did it come from , what sort of food miles were involved.

Once I had thoroughly over thought the matter I pondered what to make with the asparagus. I rather liked the idea of roasting it but couldn’t find much info on doing that so I settled on a tart, which given I adore puff pastry was fine for me.

Asparagus Tart – adapted from Joy the Baker

about 1/2 bunch asparagus (I ended up using 7 spears)
large handful of grated parmesan cheese
1 egg
balsamic vinegar
1 sheet puff pastry
olive oil

Preheat oven to 180 degrees C
defrost sheet of puff pastry
while puff pastry is defrosting trim asparagus spears
beat egg
cut defrosted puff pastry to a size just bigger than asparagus, brush with egg and sprinkle 1/2 the parmesan cheese on pastry
then lay asparagus over the top then top with remaining parmesan cheese, drizzle over some olive oil
bake until pastry is golden and puffed and asparagus is cooked through
drizzle balsamic vinegar of the top,
Enjoy

2 thoughts on “Asparagus Tart

Leave a comment