homemade wraps/tortillas

Image

I first made this recipe when my eldest child was a baby.  I was planing on making burritos for dinner but discovered I didn’t have any tortillas, logically one might pop off to shops for the required ingredient, but one problem, my baby was asleep and as any parent knows one of the golden rules with a baby is don’t wake a sleeping baby.  Also even if I did wake him up I would have to load him in the car, drive to the supermarket, fight for a carpark at the supermarket, get him out the car, hope he didn’t cry or vomit in the supermarket, then load him back in the car and go home.  All for a packet of tortillas.  So I busted out this recipe and they worked really well.  

I’ve made them many many times since because I like the fact I know whats in them, and because my family loves them and asks for them often.

They’re also so good when you need to stretch the budget, not only are they cheap to make, but can be used to stretch leftovers.  Got some casserole left over that’s not quite enough for a meal?  Wrap it up in one of these wraps, they are really filling so you make a smaller serving of casserole etc stretch.  They also work well as a substitute for nann bread to.

The only thing I find with them as they are a bit hard to roll out andIi can never get them as thin as shop bought ones, but that’s ok, it just makes them more filling.

 

Tortillas/wraps recipe adapted from Destitute Gourmet by Sophie Gray

2 /12 cups of four

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

3 tbls oil

about 1 cup of warm water

 

Combine flour, baking powder and salt in a  bowl of mixer. add oil and mix using a dough hook.  Gradually add enough water to form a soft dough.  Kneed in mixer for a bout 2 minutes rf by hand on floured surface for about 5 mins.  

Allow the dough to rest I’ve left it between 5 mins and 1/2 and hour and its been fine. 

Divide dough into about 8 pieces, less if you want large tortillas more if you want smaller tortillas, and roll out, try to get them pretty thin and may about 20 cms across.  Its not the easiest dough tot roll out so you may not get it in a perfect circle shape that’s ok.

Spray a hot pan with oil and cook them for about 30-60 secs until they bubble and get brown spots on them, turn over and cook other side.  repeat with remaining tortillas, re oiling pan in between each one.  

If not eating straight away cover with lightly damp clean tea towel.

One thought on “homemade wraps/tortillas

  1. I’ve tried making tortillas once, but they really weren’t thin enough to wrap and went a bit hard and crunchy around the edges. Good for dipping into curries etc, but not great for burritos. I’m going to try these. Love the idea of wrapping up bits of casserole etc. Very budget friendly.

Leave a comment