Scones – you totally can make them

Ok people let’s talk scones. I love scones. I really loved scones when I was pregnant with my son, I mean I was making them several times a week for the whole 9 months. Predictably my son loves scones .

What’s not to love about scones, they are cheap, easy and need no fancy ingredients. You can dress them up and serve them with fancy butters & jams or just enjoy them in a simple way.  They are also a staple of Australain baking and I’m going to bake my way through a whole bunch of Australain baking classics begining with scones.

However I’m getting the idea that people are frightened of making them. I always seem to have people asking me how to make them, what ingredients are needed etc. There is this strange perception form people that they are hard to make. People even buy scone mix.

Let me put this out there for you . YOU CAN MAKE SCONES. You totally can I have faith in you. You need only 3 ingredients, and I bet there’s a fair chance you have then in your cupboard. You don’t need a fancy mixer, there is no creaming butter and sugar and not even a wooden spoon is needed.

Let’s make scones

There is sifting of flour (but you can skip this and it will still work out really well)

Butter rubbed into flour

Mixed together with buttermilk with a knife

Glazing action

Scones

2 1/2 cups self raising flour

30g butter

1 cup butter milk (or plain milk or cream for a richer scone)

Extra milk for glazing

Preheat oven to 200 degrees c

Sift Flour into bowl (I’ve not sifted it & it still worked out)

Rub butter into flour, you want to rub it in until the mixture looks like breadcrumbs

Make a well in the centre, add milk. Mix with a knife (yes just an average butter knife) to form a dough.

Top out on to light floured surface gather it together and pat it down to about 2.5 cm thick. Don’t overwork the dough or it will make the scones tough.

Cut scones out. I’ve got some fancy scone cutter (gift for going to a tupperware party), if you don’t have one use a small glass. Pop scones on baking paper lined tray fairly close together (it helps them rise). Glaze scones with extra milk.

Bake for 15 mins (or until lightly golden).  Cool on cooling rack.

Leave a Reply

