Anzac Biscuits

On Anzac day I attend our local dawn service. I’ve been to the one in the city and its moving, but I prefer the local one. It closer and obviously easier to get to and has a community feel. But mainly I prefer it because it’s on the beach front and is hauntingly beautiful with the waves breaking and the seagull’s cries as dawn’s first light casts its glow over the service.

I go to the dawn service to pay special respects to my grandfather who fought at Gallipoli, my father who fought in WW2 , My uncles Dan and Dermot who also fought in WW2 and my Uncle William (Bill) who made the ultimate sacrifice at Kokoda.

My children are still young so when I talk to them about Anzac day I talk about how it’s a day for us to commemorate those soldiers who have served our country when asked. I am also pleased to see the kids also learn about it in school.

I also make Anzac biscuits. These are one of the easiest biscuits to make and of course they are delicious in an oaty golden syrupy kind of way. Some people put fruit or nuts in them but I think they are pretty good plain.

At the moment I’m tweaking my recipe as I want it to be perfect as I intend to enter my Anzac biscuits in the Royal Adelaide show (the blue ribbon shall be mine). I’ve used brown sugar here but have successfully used normal sugar as well (same quantities). I also used plain flour but have successfully used self raising flour (again same quantities).

Let’s make Anzac Biscuits

We’ve got sugar action

oats

flour

desiccated coconut

butter and golden syrup

bi carb foamy action

Anzac Biscuits

1 cup brown sugar (or white sugar)

1 cup plain flour (or SR flour)

1 cup rolled oats

1 cup desiccated coconut

125 butter

2 tablespoons golden syrup

½ tsp bicarbonate of soda (bi carb)

2 tablespoons boiling water

Preheat oven to 160 C

Combine dry ingredients in a mixing bowl.

Combine butter and golden syrup in small saucepan, stir low heat until melted. Add boiling water, then add bi carb, stir. it will foam up at this stage which is good

Stir the foamy mixture into the dry ingredients. Take teaspoonful’s of mixture and place on lightly greased oven trays and press down slightly.

Pop in oven for about 20 minutes (or lightly brown). Cool on tray for a few minutes before transferring to cooling rack.

3 thoughts on “Anzac Biscuits

  1. I have an Anzac biscuits story…

    My Nanna use to make these biscuits called ‘Gordon Cookies’ that being our family name and all. Anyhow she used to do this in the UK when my dad was a little boy, and then all over the world. When my mum came into the picture, she was inducted into the tradition and so I grew up with them too without realising they were a staple of Australian culture. Gordon Cookies. Turns out they’re actually Anzac Biscuts, only Nannarised. When my dad was but a young’un, his best mate was an Aussie. And so their mothers did what women do well, they shared a good recipe. From Birmingham to to Iran to Hawaii to Australia, so began the tradition of the ‘Gordon Cookie’.

  2. Such lovely, heartfelt words Lucy. I don’t have anything like that sort of personal connection with Anzac Day, but it really does allow one time for reflection. So wonderful that you share the message with the children. I saw lovely hand coloured poppy wreaths on my run today. Made me feel proud and glad that school children are still made aware of the importance of it all.

    These biscuits are a favourite in my house. Are they the chewy variety? I thought about making them, the ingredients are all ones I keep stocked, but I fall a little short today. I shall try them soon though and let you know how I did. My eyes may glaze over with all the measuring, but you’ve kept it nice and simple for a baking klutze like me!

Leave a Reply

