Hot Cross Buns No. 3- Aunty Jenny’s recipe

When I told people about my quest to make the perfect soft hot cross bun (see hot cross bun no.1 & hot cross bun no.2), I got given a few recipes to try. One of them was from my husband’s Aunty Jenny. She gave me the recipe at a family birthday party. I had a quick look at it and it seemed similar to the other recipes I had baked. But decided to bake it as she was adamant it produced soft and fluffy hot cross buns, that I feared her wrath if I didn’t bake them.

It wasn’t till I re read it after the party that I noticed the proving times of this recipe were a lot shorter than others. and it had a lot of yeast for the quantity of flour. Also it had gluten and bread improver in the ingredients which of course I totally didn’t notice till I went to make it (details details) and don’t really have them in the cupboard, as such I made it without gluten and bread improve and used bread flour and hoped for the best.

And……………..They were prefect, soft and fluffy (so soft that when I went to glaze them I thought they weren’t cooked properly as they were soft).

Let’s make hot cross buns (again)

Fancy bread flour plus of course spices

mixed up with butter and water by my lovely mixer

sultanas were the fruit of choice

I even piped on crosses

baked and glazed them

Aunty Jenny’s Hot Cross Buns (recipe adapted by me) – makes 6 buns

1 3/4 cups bread flour

1 tsp salt

3 tsp sugar

3 tsp yeast

1 tsp all spice

1 tsp mixed spice

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp cinnamon

3 tsp butter

3/4 cup warm water

2/3 cup sultanas

for the crosses

1/2 cup cornflour

2 tbl sugar

1 tbl flour

2-3 tbl water

Mix dry ingredients (except sultanas) together

Add butter and water

Mix to form dough, mix in mixer with dough hook for about 1 min (or by hand 3-5 mins)

Place in lightly oiled /bowl, rest for 15 mins

Punch down and kneed in fruit – his took about 1 min in mixer with dough hook (maybe 3 mins by hand)

Rest for 10mins
divide into 6 even pieces and shape into ball. Place on greased or baking paper lined tray allowing room for them to rise. Prove for 30-45mins (or doubled in size)

once risen preheat oven to 190 degrees

Mix together cross ingredients to stiff paste, pipe on buns

Bake in oven for 20 mins

I glazed them using the same glaze as in hot cross buns no.2

Enjoy fresh from oven with real proper butter

3 thoughts on “Hot Cross Buns No. 3- Aunty Jenny’s recipe

  1. Are you kidding me? were they really soft and fluffy? even the day after? I’ll be pissed if my 72 hour dough can be done in 20 minutes…..maybe i’ll try these as well as my 72 hour buns over Easter. Thanks Lucy!

  2. Lucy I made these yesterday but with a twist. Choc chips instead of fruity bits & then added an espresso shot (or two) of coffee. Very tasty.Thanks for sharing aunty Jen’s recipe!

Leave a Reply

