Sundays with Joy- Brown Butter Blueberry Muffins

Let me start by saying brown butter makes everything better.

Blueberry muffins + brown butter = a little piece of deliciousness above and beyond the usual muffin experience

This week in the Sundays with Joy Facebook group we made Joy the Baker’s Brown Butter Blueberry Muffins.

I knew I was on to a winner with these muffins when I tasted the batter,  it was so moreish. They were so good, even my non blueberry eating husband couldn’t keep his hands off them.  The brown butter adds a kind of subtle caramel flavour to them and they are so moist.

Plus brown butter bears strong resemblance to beer – winner

I used frozen blueberries because blueberries are out of season here in Australia and even if I could have tracked some down they would have been super expensive.  I’ll admit I was worried about the blueberries as frozen berries have the problem of not holding their shape and kinda going mushy.  I was extra careful with the ones I used, I defrosted them overnight in a colander, then really carefully folded them through.

They have a crumble topping.  The amount of crumble seemed excessive so I didn’t use it all.  I now know I should have used all of it as a fair bit disappears into the muffin, and whilst they had some crumble topping more would have been the icing on the cake (or crumble on the muffin). Forgive me Joy.

I really think a whole variety of fruit could be used in place of the blueberries, I’m thinking peaches or  raspberries or bananas and this will totally be my go to muffin recipe from now on.

The recipe for these delicious morsels can be found in the Joy the Baker cookbook ,which truly is a celebration of butter and sugar.

Don’t know who Joy is? Well she’s an awesome baker and blogger.  Here fantastic blog can be found here

Interested in seeing the other Sundays with Joy bakers Brown Butter Blueberry Muffins? the delightful Bakeaholic Mama has compiled the links to their blogs

6 thoughts on “Sundays with Joy- Brown Butter Blueberry Muffins

Leave a Reply

