Jupiter Creek Farm CSA box week 3

Another post about the produce. This week was the third week of our Jupiter Creek Farm CSA box adventure (see Jupiter Creek Farm CSA box for more info on what a CSA is).

The box was picked up taken home, the lid removed to reveal

  • Broccoli
  • Potatoes
  • Onions
  • Pumpkin
  • Sweet corn
  • Carrots
  • Zucchini
  • Spinach
  • Permissions
  • Apples
  • Pears
  • Oranges

What did we or will we do with the produce

Broccoli, I suspect a stir fry will be on the horizon and broccoli will go perfectly in it. Otherwise I haven’t tried the roasted broccoli and after the success of roast cauliflower this week I’m keen to try it.

Potatoes, well as a potato loving family there are many ways we will use these. I may use them in a frittata or some other creative way or maybe my famous potato bake or just make mashed potato (comfort food).

Onions, well these are the real work horse of the kitchen and I cook nearly every day with them so there is no quesiton that they will be used.

Pumpkin, well I think pumpkin is my favourite vegetable at the moment. I’m full to the brim with recipes and different ways to use it. I’m quite keen to try one of these 2 recipes out Cheesy Pumpkin Tart or Pumpkin Pie.

Sweet corn, well there was only 1 cob, so I’m guessing that will be an accompaniment to a meal during the week.

Carrots were again really flavourful and will be eaten as a snack or as an accompaniment. I’m never quite mastered roasting them so might give that a crack this week, of course if I’m going to be naughty I could always make an awesome carrot cake.

Zucchini, these were quite small and I suspect have a delicate flavour. Sorely tempted to use them in a frittata or may roast them and work that into a meal we are having this week.

Spinach, this is the hardest open to sue as my husband really won’t eat it. I’m thinking some sort of curry (not a fave of husbands either) for work lunches during the week. Of course will definitely use some in green smoothies.

Permissions I’m and not at all familiar with them, only having had them once in one of our boxes. They were quite tasty on their own, but stumbled upon a recipe for permission bread (not sure I have the right type of permissions), I’ve also had a Permission paste recipe dangled in front of me and might have to follow up on that as it would go well with my feta cheese I’m told.

Apples, well they are so delicious, crunchy, sweet & tart that we will jut wast them as is, same for the pears.

Oranges, well eat them as is, or juice them with a pomegranate left over from last week. My inner baker is crying out for an orange cake to be made or I did a baking class where we learnt to make lemon cream cheese cupcakes and think this could be adapted to use oranges.

Part of the In her Chucks CSA Link party

4 thoughts on “Jupiter Creek Farm CSA box week 3

  1. Wow, what a sexy looking produce box! Whenever we’ve ordered one they have usually been full of spuds & onions – nothing too inspirational.
    I adore pumpkin and can heartily vouch for the pumpkin pie, although the cheesy tart also sounds wonderful.
    Big thanks for the link up :)

  2. My suggestion for the zucchini is to saute with onion & a dob of butter (leave the skins on but obviously wash well). Boil or roast the potatoes so they soften up, then throw them in with the zucchini mix. Vitamise them altogether adding veggie stock to make a soup. serve soup with pumpkin scones. very tasty meal in the cooler weather :)

  3. Some great looking stuff! I had a hard time with persimmons when I first received them…but then I found this recipe and now I look forward to getting them! http://inherchucks.com/2011/12/17/braised-pork-with-fuyu-persimmons/

    I have a yummy turkey burger recipe with carrots and zucchini…kind of turns a naughty meal into a healthy one :) http://inherchucks.com/2011/10/29/z-is-for-zu-chee-ni/. And then you won’t feel so bad eating these…http://inherchucks.com/2011/10/30/zucchini-part-2/…or these…http://inherchucks.com/2012/04/06/carrot-cookies/

    I am a big fan of roasted broccoli and cauliflower as well..so simple, easy and delicious!

    Looking forward to seeing what you do with all that delicious produce :)

    Thanks for the link up!

Leave a Reply

